I can honestly say that I do own a couple of pairs of running bottoms, two of them are actual sport makes and the other is Primark. It has become a staple uniform for Mums on the school run to leave the school gates looking sleek in their gym wear and looking like they weigh the same as my seven year old daughter too!

I overhear the Mums talking whilst standing their in the latest Nike outfits, bursting with colour and funky designs “shall we head for the bla bla roundabout then stop for a coffee” or just simply “I’ll catch you up”. While I drive home from my morning school run I see about five or six of the Mums running up the hill looking like Gazelle’s running in sync, with their shiny ponty tails swaying behind them. I would love to be joining them I sometimes think to myself, but then I snap back into reality and think of what biscuits I am going to dunk in my tea or coffee when I get home and prepare myself for the loop of CBeebies that keeps my youngest entertained. I actually find myself concentrating when Mr Tumble is teaching the children sign language and copying his signs.

Back to my gym kit! Are there any other Mums out there who just see them as glorified PJ’s??? I find them some mornings the best invention ever and I will list the reasons why:

1: You do not have to shower or even wash because you can say to others if you are feeling paranoid that you are going on a 10k run and will do so when you get back home.
2: They never look creased so even if they are in a ball at the bottom of your bed you can pick them up and put them straight on.
3: Even if they have a slight whiff of body odour as you have not put them in the wash, it kind of goes with the theme of sweating your butt cheeks off and running like Forrest Gump to obtain that tiny waist. In fact it probably makes you seem a little bit hard core within the running gang and you mean business!
4. Extra added bonus as you would only wear trainers with this outfit so comfort is the only option.
5. Unless you are going bold with loud prints or going funky like Rita Ora with the latest Adidas designed sportswear, just stick to black and no one bats and eyelid and you blend in with the crowd, so be it Nike or Primark you generally look the same as everyone else.

I have only downside 😦

1. When I wear my glorified PJ’s I get bombarded with “oohh you off to the gym?”, “what gym are you a member of?”, “off for a run?”. I sheepishly respond with “yes, maybe, no gym membership just a quick job possibly”, whilst pretending my young child in my arms is pulling my hair or causing distress so I have to shoot off quickly.

What I really am doing is getting back in the car to head home for a cup of instant coffee and decide whether I can be bothered to make something healthy for breakfast before the Ironing Board comes out.